virgin islands villas
St. Thomas · Things to do · Coki Point

Coral World Ocean Park

Coral World Ocean Park keeps its aquariums and dolphins on five acres of Coki Point, St. Thomas, next to Coki Beach. Visitor admission is $29 from age 13 and $17 from 3 to 12, per Coral World Ocean Park in October 2026, and the booth sells its last ticket at 3 pm. Below: encounters, closed days and our drives.

Written by Virgin Islands Villas · Facts checked Oct 2026

What a Coral World ticket costs and covers

One general admission ticket opens every exhibit on the park's five acres of aquariums, outdoor pools and nature trails, per Coral World Ocean Park as of October 2026. The exhibits are the Undersea Observatory Tower, the Caribbean Reef Encounter, the Dolphin Sea Sanctuary, the touch pool, Shark Shallows, the stingray lagoon, the turtle pool and the critter corners.

TicketVisitorLocal rate
Adult, 13 and over$29$17
Child, 3 to 12$17$9.50
Under 3freefree
Family day pass$100$70

Prices from the park's general-admission page, checked October 9, 2026. The family pass admits two adults and up to four children aged 3 to 21. A family booking one encounter pays its price for that person and the gate price for the rest.

The ticket also buys the daily talks, free and on a fixed clock. The park lists these, seven days a week:

TalkTimeWhere
Shark talk9:30 amShark Shallows
Dolphin talk10 am and 2:30 pmthe Dolphin Education Center dock
Turtle talk10:30 am and 1:30 pmthe turtle encounter pool
Sea lion presentation11 am and 2 pmthe Marine Gardens, limited seating
Caribbean Reef Encounter feeding11:30 am and 3 pmthe Caribbean Reef Encounter
Shark feeding1 pmShark Shallows

Each runs ten minutes. Shark Shallows is a head-start pool: the park collects juvenile nurse, lemon and blacktip sharks from local waters, then tags and releases them once they are big enough.

The paid encounters, side by side

Coral World sells seven encounters, and the total time each lists includes check-in, orientation and photos, so the time with the animal is the number to compare. Prices are the park's starting prices on each activity's own page, checked October 9, 2026.

EncounterFromTotalWith the animalAgesThe rule that decides it
Shark Encounter$57.6045 minnot statedall4 ft 8 in minimum height
Dolphin Encounter$71.4035 min10 minallunder 10 with an adult who takes part
Sea Lion Encounter$71.4035 min15 minallon dry land
Snuba$9275 minnot stated8 and overmust be able to swim
Sea Trek$10745 minnot stated8 and over80 lb minimum, no swimming needed
Dolphin Splash & Swim$164.2560 min20 min7 and over45 lb minimum, confident swimmers
Sea Lion Splash & Swim$164.2560 min25 min7 and over45 lb minimum

The park's own activities list quotes the Dolphin Encounter from $119 for 40 minutes and the Sea Lion Encounter at 50 minutes; the activity pages say otherwise, so check the price on the booking screen. Each encounter page says personal cameras and GoPros are not permitted in the water, and the park's photographers sell pictures afterward. Every encounter includes general admission.

Swimming with dolphins at Coral World

The difference between the two is depth. The Dolphin Encounter is on a submerged platform two to four feet deep, depending on the tide. Children under 10 need a participating adult, up to two children each, and only paying participants may enter the interaction area, so a parent who wants to be in the water pays too.

The Dolphin Splash & Swim starts on the same platform and moves into water about 20 feet deep, which the park warns can be wavy. Every swimmer wears a life vest and must swim confidently without help, and children aged 7 to 9 swim with one participating adult each. The park gives no refund to anyone who cannot finish because of their swimming: read that line before you book a child onto it.

The sea lion encounters, on land and in the water

The Sea Lion Encounter stays on dry land. Children under 10 take part beside a participating adult, one child each; guests aged 10 to 17 may go alone with a waiver signed by a parent or guardian.

The Sea Lion Splash & Swim adds the water, with the same waiver rule and a 45-pound minimum. Its page calls it suited to less comfortable swimmers; the park's FAQ recommends some swimming ability. Take the FAQ's word for a child who has not swum in open water.

Sea Trek, Snuba and the shark encounter

These three put you in the water with a guide rather than beside one animal. Sea Trek is a helmet walk on the sea floor around the Undersea Observatory Tower. No swimming is needed and glasses can be worn under the helmet; anyone pregnant may not take part, and everyone signs a health release.

Snuba is the step toward diving: the air tanks ride on a raft at the surface and a long hose feeds the diver, no more than four to a raft, along the reef off Coki Point. Every diver must be able to swim.

The Shark Encounter is a mask and snorkel in Shark Shallows among the juvenile sharks, for anyone at least 4 feet 8 inches tall who can manage a flight of stairs. It is not open to expecting mothers.

How long to spend at Coral World

Two to three hours on general admission, and three to five with an encounter or an underwater program, by the park's own estimate as of October 2026. A ticket allows in-and-out access all day, and the admission wristband lets you walk between the park and Coki Beach next door, per the park's FAQ.

That makes the day a pair. Coki Beach is a public beach with no entrance fee, very little parking and vendors renting chairs on the sand. The park's Beach Café, outside the main gate by the boardwalk, serves breakfast and lunch and can be reached from the beach without a ticket; the Shark Bar sits inside on a deck beside Shark Shallows, where iguanas wander among the tables. Strollers go through much of the park, and many areas take a wheelchair, though the park says some exhibits and encounter sites have limits; call ahead about a specific one.

Getting to Coral World from the cruise piers

By taxi or car, along Route 38, Smith Bay Road. The minutes below are Mapbox legs we ran, each ending at the Coki Beach lot next to the park, so each is about that to the ticket booth.

FromMinutes by car
Havensight cruise pierabout 22
Crown Bay cruise pierabout 29
Charlotte Amalieabout 20
Red Hook ferry terminalabout 9

The park itself says 20 to 25 minutes by taxi from downtown and the docks; from Crown Bay we measured longer. Coming from town, from the west, turn right onto Coki Point Beach Road at the Coral World sign above Louie's Market. Parking is free for park guests: tell the gate you are in the lot and display the dashboard permit you are given. The park's advice is to buy admission and put the permit up before you go to the beach, or risk a boot on the wheel. A bus marked Red Hook stops about ten minutes' walk away. If your cruise line sells Coral World as an excursion, the park asks you to book through the cruise line.

When Coral World is closed

On set days each month, and the park's calendar is the only place they are published. Read on October 9, 2026, it lists October 2, 3, 9 to 12, 16, 17 and 24 as closed, nine days, and prints no year beside them; October 9, the day we checked, was one of them. Its about-us page adds a second pattern: open every day from October to April and in July, and Sunday to Thursday in May, June, August and September, while the rest of the site says daily. The tradeoff: a cruise day can land on a closed day, so read the calendar before you plan around it. On an open day, most activities run in light rain, per the park, and severe weather can move them.

The one hour to remember is 3 pm, when the ticket booth closes, an hour before the gates.

More on St. Thomas

Facts checked against Coral World Ocean Park. Checked October 2026.